NHD Academy

←Click to view more videos→

State Wildfire Responsibility Area (SRA)

California’s fire service (CAL FIRE) has a legal responsibility for fire protection on all State Responsibility Area (SRA) lands as defined by land ownership, population density and land use. CAL FIRE typically does not have responsibility for densely populated areas (local fire department jurisdictions), agricultural lands, or federal lands. State laws and fire codes may impose certain costs on property owners within the SRA that must be disclosed on sale.

Effective July 1, 2017, the annual fire prevention fee imposed in 2011 on properties in the SRA has been suspended until 2031 under Assembly Bill 398 (2017).

For more information about SRA zones, go to www.fire.ca.gov.

Hosted by Geologist Patrick McClellan, B.Sc., M.A., CA PG# 3854

In this episode:

• State fire hazard zones
• Rural emergency service
• Wildland fire safety codes


Why this is important

• These are wildfire zones where California's state fire service (CAL FIRE) has primary responsibility.
• State fire safety codes may require certain property improvements.
• This is a required disclosure to a buyer under state law if a property is in this zone.
• The county or city General Plan Safety Element may provide maps of additional fire hazards.
• This disclosure is included in First American NHD and JCP-LGS disclosure reports.


Order a report


Privacy Policy  |   Terms of Use

© 2017 First American Financial Corporation and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.

First American, the eagle logo, First American Natural Hazard Disclosures and and JCP-LGS Disclosures are registered trademarks or trademarks of First American Financial Corporation and/or its affiliates.
First American Professional Real Estate Services, Inc. makes no express or implied warranty respecting the information presented in this communication and assumes no responsibility for errors or omissions this communication may contain.

200 Commerce, Suite 100, Irvine, CA 92602